Staff & Board

Konrad Fisher – Executive Director

Konrad has fifteen years of advocacy, research, and communications experience focusing on water, economic, and climate policy. Before joining the staff of Klamath Riverkeeper in 2011, Konrad worked for nonprofit organizations and tribal governments promoting the needs of river-dependent communities. In addition to publishing reports and articles, he successfully fostered campaigns that secured tribal representation within California’s water management planning process, advanced policies allowing the dedication of water rights for environmental needs, prevented groundwater export from Siskiyou County, and helped to stop destructive forms of industrial fish farming in U.S. federal waters. Four generations of Konrad’s family have resided in the Klamath Basin, including paternal grandparents who logged throughout the basin and a maternal grandfather who helped dam the Trinity River. Konrad lives on the lower Klamath River and holds a BA from the University of Oregon.

Monique Sonoquie – Community outreach

Monique works with youth as the Executive Director of the Indigenous Youth Foundation and represents Klamath Riverkeeper at festivals, conferences and regional events.

Board of Directors

  • Leaf Hillman – Karuk Tribal Council – President
  • Craig Tucker, PhD – Klamath Campaign Coordinator, Karuk Tribe – Secretary
  • Peter Brucker – Salmon River Restoration Council – Treasurer
  • Dania Rose Colegrove – Maintance Supervisor, Hoopa Valley Housing Authority
  • Nathaniel Pennington – Klamath Salmon Media Collaborative
  • Marc Valens – Sycan River property owner
  • Taylor R. Tupper – Klamath Tribal Member
  • Frankie Joe Myers – Fisherman & Yurok Tribal Member